Don't Delete Photos Synchronized between iPhone and iCloud

Q

What is the impact of deleting a photo that is synchronized between iPhone and iCloud?

✍: FYIcenter.com

A

The impact of deleting a photo that is synchronized between iPhone and iCloud Photo Library is that it will be deleted from both places.

In other words,

  • If you delete a photo from your iPhone, the same photo will be automatically deleted from iCloud Photo Library.
  • If you delete a photo from your iCloud Photo Library, the same photo will be automatically deleted from iPhone.

If your iPhone is connected to Wi-Fi, the impact will happen immediately. If your iPhone is not connected to Wi-Fi, the impact will be delayed until your iPhone is connected to Wi-Fi next time.

So photos uploaded to iCloud Photo Library are not second backup copies. They are mirroring photos on your iPhone. Deleting a photo in one place, the mirror photo in the other place will be gone too.

When your iPhone is connected to the iCloud Photo Library, deleting a photo on your iPhone displays an extra message: "This photo will be deleted from iCloud Photo Library on all your devices.", as shown in the picture below:
Don't Delete Photos Synchronized between iPhone and iCloud

Again, don't delete any good photos on your iPhone after turning on iCloud Photo Library, unless you have backup copies stored in somewhere else.

 

Managing iPhone Photos with iCloud

⇒⇒iPhone Camera and Photos - Frequently Asked Questions

2017-06-28, 135👍, 0💬